They Call Me Mellow Yellow

by irahjune

We’ve all been there. It’s been a long day, you get up, went to work or class, checked the time so often that you are pretty sure it stopped just out of spite and may or may not have had a donut…or three. Well when I have days like these, I like to have days where I do the opposite. I don’t get up or go to class. Time? HA! I don’t care. Donuts? I’ll have six.  Yeah.. it is probably the weekend but that doesn’t matter. I’m still mellowing… maybe even yellowing… ew, I hope I don’t “yellow”… whatever that means. Okay, so my actual point is when I want to mellow out I switch up my daily routine. Most people associate mellowness with sitting around and basically becoming one with the couch. Why should we correlate winding down with laziness? I like to read up on National Geographic and think about how cool it would be to dive into unknown parts of the ocean. Then I contemplate switching majors so that I can be one step closer to being a mermaid. Then I remember mermaids are not real…( google “Proof Mermaids are Real”) Okay…they aren’t real… back to the point. Sometimes I’ll turn off a number of lights, put my headphones in and listen to music. There is something very relaxing about listening to music through headphones. It’s so private and personal and you can really hone in on specific instruments. I can’t tell you how many times I’ve been listening to music with my headphones and been like, “Whoa! I didn’t know there was a triangle in this song!” Okay, probably not a triangle but I thought that would persuade you to give my mellow yellow idea a try.  So basically what I am saying is there are too many ways to mellow down for me to sit here and explain what mellows me. Just keep changing your mellow yellow up… it might even lead to less donuts…or more. 😉

 

P.S. I’d love to hear what your mellow yellows are!

